Sometime in 1956 a sub-committee was formed to oversee the construction of the new bowling green. Members elected were, Mr's. Cyril Platt, Eric Harrison, Pat Costello & Don Stewart,  who were all Returned Servicemen who had previous bowling experience with the Corowa Bowling Club.  The grass was sown & the green was ready for opening on 8th March 1957 by Mr. Clem Hill, Councillor representing the Royal Victorian Bowling Association.

At the official opening there were representatives from Rutherglen, Ovens & Murray, Walla Walla, Wodonga, Oaklands, Culcairn & Urana.

The President of the United Servicemen's Club, Mr. F. Sammons welcomed everyone & recalled that the club had been in existence for only 8 years. During that time the membership had grown to over 450.

Mrs Lilian Parkin, Pres.Ladies Auxilary, sent down the first jack & Mrs. J. Lawson, the first bowl.

The first Legacy Day was held on 16th March 1958 & won by Mr. Goldsworthy's team from Wangaratta.

The first Annual Meeting was held in July 1958.